HomeAbout UsAICRP on Women in Agriculture

AICRP on Women in Agriculture

The AICRP on Women in Agriculture was conceived as an instrument to develop a strong base of research and extension the State Agricultural Universities for improving the quality of life of rural families. The project was initiated during the VI Five Year Plan Period. However, it is merged with DRWA in XI Five Year Plan Period. AICRP on Women in Agriculture integrates all the five components of Home Science in it namely Foods and Nutrition, Clothing and Textiles, Family Resource Management, Human Development & Family Studies and Home Science Extension Education. Each discipline has a specific thrust area of research that has been knitted together to focus on empowerment of women in agriculture for enhancing their quality of life. At present, the AICRP on Home Science is being implemented through its thirteen centres located in different State Agricultural Universities of the country viz.

  1. Chaudhary Charan Singh Haryana Agricultural University, Hisar, Haryana
  2. Punjab Agricultural University, Ludhiana, Punjab
  3. Govind Ballabh Pant University of Agriculture & Technology, Pantnagar, Uttaranchal
  4. Maharana Pratap University of Agriculture and Technology, Udaipur, Rajasthan
  5. Prof. Jayshankar Telangana State Agricultural University (PJTSAU), Hyderabad, Telangana
  6. University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharwad, Karnataka
  7. University of Agricultural Sciences Bengaluru, Karnataka
  8. Assam Agricultural University, Jorhat, Assam
  9. Chaudhary Sarwan Kumar Himachal Pradesh Krishi Vishvavidyalaya, Palampur, Himachal Pradesh
  10. Marathawada Agricultural University, Parbhani, Maharashtra
  11. Central Agricultural University, Tura, Meghalaya
  12. Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Madurai, Tamil Nadu
  13. Dr. Rajendra Prasad Central Agricultural University, Samastipur, Bihar