Unit Meeting of AICRP on Home Science

A three days unit meeting of all the scientists working in AICRP on Home Science has been organized from 5th-7th August, 2014 at DRWA, Bhubaneswar to review the research achievements accomplished during the year 2013-14 and to prepare the action plan for the ongoing project during 2014-15. Scientists from ten centres attended the meeting. Dr. Vinita Sharma, Ex-advisor, Department of Science & Technology graced the occasion as a Guest Speaker of the Inaugural Session .
       Dr. Jyoti Nayak, SIC (Home Science) welcomed the dignitaries and other participants . In her opening remarks, Dr. Neelam Grewal, Director, DRWA and Project Coordinator emphasised the need to reach the remote areas and address family and gender related issues in agriculture. Adoption of one block to carry out work under AICRP was also stressed.
       Dr. Vinita Sharma, Guest Speaker of the session delivered a presentation on 'Gender and sustainable livelihoods through appropriate science & technology interventions'. She appreciated the work done by the scientists of AICRP on Home Science and suggested strategies to improve their role in creating sustainable livelihoods for different section of the rural population. According to Dr. Sharma, gender issues need to be addressed through different interventions and need based capacity building programmes among the target groups. Scientists should aim to develop, up-grade, modulate & replicate gender neutral technologies to address the drudgery related issues of farmwomen. Coordinated programmes could be carried out in collaborative mode and linkages may be made with different organizations to address the present needs of the population. Rural/Women Technology Parks may be established in different regions of the country to create awareness among the people about post harvest technologies, energy conservation models, use of bio-pesticides, water sanitation and income generation activities. She also gave different examples of successful enterprises which worked for rural women.  

      The session ended with the formal vote of thanks by Dr. Abha Singh, Scientist (Food& Nutrition). Dr, Sabita Mishra, SIC (Agricultural Extension) coordinated the Inaugural Session.