ICAR-CIWA celebrated ‘National Productivity Week’ (12-18 February, 2017)

ICAR-Central Institute for Women in Agriculture (ICAR-CIWA) celebrated "National Productivity Week " during 12-18 February, 2017. The theme for celebrating the National Productivity Week was 'From Waste to Profits through Reduce, Recycle, Reuse'. Dr. Jatinder Kishtwaria, Director, ICAR-CIWA inaugurated the National Productivity Week Celebration. The programme was attended by all the scientific, technical and administrative staff members of ICAR-CIWA. Dr. Biswanath Sahoo, Principal Scientist, ICAR-CIWA, briefed about the cause behind celebration and the activities to be organised during National Productivity Week celebration.

To mark the occasion, the mass awareness and cleaning campaign was organised on the farm of ICAR-CIWA to collect all farm waste for recycling it through composting. Further, the Radio Talk by Scientists of ICAR-CIWA on different issues faced by the farm women in improving farm productivity was broadcasted by All India Radio throughout the Odisha State. The poster competition for the staff of ICAR-CIWA was also organised on the theme of National Productivity Week celebration. The Scientist-Farmer Interface was also organised as a part of celebration of Institute Foundation Day on 17 February, 2017 in which the farm productivity related queries of farm women were discussed and answered by the Experts. The scientific talk also organised and delivered by Dr. Gagnesh Sharma, Regional Director, Regional Centre of Organic Farming, Bhubaneswar on topic entitled "Agricultural Waste to Profits through Reduce, Recycle, Reuse". During the valedictory address, Dr. Jatinder Kishtwaria, Director, ICAR-CIWA, stressed upon the improving farm productivity through optimum utilization of available farm resources. She also advised all the staff of ICAR-CIWA to improve human productivity as well to take this Institute at new heights. The winners of the poster competition were also awarded in the valedictory function. The programme was organised by Dr. B. Sahoo (Principal Scientist), Er. Chaitrali Mhatre (Scientist), Dr. Shivaji Argade (Scientist) and Er. Subrat Kumar Das (Technical Assistant).